Anuradhapura City


Coffee shop
Baby care
Service room
Wifi free
>Anuradhapura, was the 1st Capital City of Sri Lanka established in the 4th Century BC during the reign of King Pandukabaya, located 205 Km North of Colombo, the capital of Sri Lanka. Anuradhapura, continued to be the Royal Capital of 119 past Kings who ruled from time to time and lasted for well over 1500 years. Many historic monasteries and ancient buildings bear testimony of the rich heritage that existed during that era and still remains to this day. Several major construction projects were undertaken, during the reign of King Dutugemunu in the 2nd Century BC, which included massive dagabas, ornate pleasure gardens, monasteries and temples. Among them were, The Jetawana stupa which is about the largest stupa in the whole Buddhist world, taller than the third pyramid of Giza, Ruwanweliseya Stupa, The Mirisvetiya temple and the Loha Prasada or Brazen temple which can be seen even today. Buddhism was first introduced to Sri Lanka during the reign of King Devanampiya Tissa in the 3rd Century BC and is considered as the cradle of Buddhism. It was during the reign of King Devanampiya Tissa, that the Tissa Weva was built, which covers an extent of approximately 550 acres. It is considered as one of the major gigantic irrigation projects undertaken by him, to develop rice cultivation in the island. Sri Lanka was believed to be self sufficient in the production of rice during this era. King Devanmpiya Tissa also built the country’s first Stupa called the Thuparama, which houses a relic of the Buddha, ie his right collarbone. The Nuwara Weva (12 Sq Km), is believed to be the largest man made reservoirs built by King Vattagamini Abaya in the first century BC. The sacred Sri Mahabodhi Tree- which is believed to be the branch of the Bo tree which the Buddha himself found Enlightenment is the oldest historically authenticated tree in the world (2,200 years). It was brought to Sri Lanka in the 3rd Century B.C. by Princess Sanghamitta, daughter of Emperor Asoka of India. Anuradhapura is now one of the Eight World Heritage Sites in Sri Lanka declared by UNESCO.[/vc_column_text]

Contact Us